NT Road Toll_January 2019

On the road

The NT Police work to reduce the number of road crashes by promoting safe road use to all road users in the Territory.

Police work closely with the Department of Transport - Road Safety and the Department of Health.

The Traffic Operations Division includes Darwin Traffic Operations Unit, Major Crash Investigation Section, Road Policing Policy Unit and the Speed Camera Van Unit.

The division coordinates national and Territory-wide road safety campaigns and traffic control including major public events such as regional shows, football carnivals, V8 Super Cars, rural race days, Camel Cup, Henley-on-Todd and Darwin Cup.

The Darwin Traffic Operations, Northern Traffic Operations and Southern Traffic Operations units are based in Darwin, Katherine and Alice Springs. These units are responsible for traffic education and enforcement. Major Crash Investigation units in Darwin and Alice Springs include qualified crash investigators who are responsible for major and serious injury crashes within the Northern Territory.

The Road Policing Policy Unit provides advice on road safety legislation, policy and procedure for road safety management and best practice road policing strategies.

The Speed Camera Unit consists of three speed camera vans located in Darwin and Alice Springs and is responsible for the detection of speeding motorists in those locations. The speed camera vans are also utilised in other centres during traffic campaigns and localised traffic operations.

The Police Infringement Office is responsible for ensuring the competent reviewing of all speed camera photographs and the checking of all Infringement Notices issued in the Northern Territory.