Tennant Creek Volunteer Unit

Tennant Creek is located in the heart of the Northern Territory on the Stuart Highway the main road link to the north and south, with the Barkly Highway located 25 kilometres north, linking Tennant Creek with eastern Australia.

Tennant Creek Volunteer Unit
Click to View Image

The Tennant Creek NTES Volunteer Unit is responsible for the Tennant Creek district. The District covers an area of 56,000 square kilometres and includes the mining township of Warrego and 11 cattle stations.

The general topography of the district consists of relatively flat plains with some hilly outcrops in the immediate area surrounding Tennant Creek.

The Tennant Creek Volunteer Unit is under the control of the NTES Southern Region. Currently the unit has over 10 dedicated members trained in a variety of emergency skills.  Three of these members have received National Medals for their outstanding dedication and commitment to NTES.

The Unit carries out the full range of normal Emergency Service tasks.

The Unit Headquarters is located at 33 Leichhardt Street, Tennant Creek.

Contact with the Unit can be made by phoning the Unit Officer 0428 260 017  or by post at PO Box 315, Tennant Creek, NT 0861.