Palmerston Volunteer Unit

The Palmerston NTES Volunteer Unit is responsible for Counter Disaster Region 1, which includes Darwin, Palmerston and the rural area. This responsibility is shared with the Darwin Volunteer Unit.

Palmerston Volunteer unit
Click to View Image

The topography of the region includes the cities of Darwin and Palmerston, the rural area including Humpty Doo, Howard Springs, Noonamah and Berry Spring. Although the Palmerston Unit is often deployed throughout this area, it mainly concentrates on the areas south of Berrimah, with the Darwin Volunteer Unit mainly operating in Darwin city area.

The Palmerston Volunteer Unit is under the control of the NTES Northern Region. Currently the unit has over 20 dedicated members trained in a variety of emergency skills.

The Unit carries out the full range of normal Emergency Service. In addition the unit has two flood boats, and various emergency response trailers.

The Unit Headquarters is located at Yarrawonga Road, Palmerston.

Contact with the Unit can be made by phoning the Unit Officer on 0401 116 651 or by post to PO Box 39764, Winnellie, NT 0821.