Nhulunbuy Volunteer Unit

The Nhulunbuy district is located on the north east coast of the Northern Territory.

The Nhulunbuy NTES Volunteer Unit is responsible for the Nhulunbuy district, which includes the Gove Peninsula and part of Arnhem Land and covers an area of approximately 80,000 square kilometres. The district also includes the bauxite mine of Rio Tinto Alcan at the township of Nhulunbuy and the major communities at Yirrkala, Galinwinku and Gapuwiyak. The area of responsibility also includes many islands to the north of Nhulunbuy, including the Wessel Islands.

The general topography of the district consists of relatively flat plains with coastal hilly outcrops which rise to a height of 345 metres and form the Parsons, Mitchell and Bath Ranges, which in turn lead into the Arnhem Land Escarpment.

The Nhulunbuy Volunteer Unit falls under the control of the NTES Northern Region. Currently the unit has approximately 11 dedicated members trained in a variety of emergency skills.

The Unit carries out the full range of normal Emergency Service tasks.

The Unit Headquarters is located in Dartnell Close, off Arnhem Road, behind Gove Motors, Nhulunbuy.

Contact with the Unit can be made by phoning the Unit's Duty Officer on 0427 392 264, or by post at PO Box 844, Nhulunbuy, NT 0881.