Katherine Volunteer Unit

Katherine is located on the Stuart Highway approximately 300 kilometres south of Darwin.

The Katherine NTES Volunteer Unit is responsible for the Katherine district, which covers an area of about 22,500 square kilometres. This area of responsibility includes Katherine township, Nitmiluk National Park (Katherine Gorge), Tindal RAAF Base and five pastoral properties.

The general topography of the district ranges from river flats to the rugged terrain of the Arnhem Land escarpment, the highest point which is 450 metres above sea level. Limestone outcrops predominate throughout the northern part of the district

The Katherine Volunteer Unit falls under the control of the NTES Northern Region. Currently the unit has approximately 20 dedicated members trained in a variety of emergency skills.  Members carry out the full range of normal Emergency Service tasks.  In addition the unit has two flood boats, a rescue trailer.

The Unit Headquarters is located at Chardon Street, Katherine.

Contact with the Unit can be made by phoning the Unit Officer on 0401 116 521 or by e-mail to ntes@nt.gov.au