Daly River Volunteer Unit

Daly River is located 160 kilometres south of Darwin.

Daly River Volunteer unit
Click to View Image

The Daly River NTES Volunteer Unit is responsible for the Daly River Police District. The District covers an area which includes the Naiyu Nambiyu Community and 3 pastoral stations at Tipperary, Elizabeth Downs and Litchfield.

The general topography of the District consists of saline coastal flats, mangrove and blacksoil plains interspersed with densely wooded areas and hilly outcrop areas in the Wingate Mountains areas.

The Daly River Volunteer Unit falls under the control of the NTES Northern Region. Currently the Unit has around six dedicated members trained in a variety of emergency skills.

The Unit carries out the full range of normal Emergency Service tasks. In addition it holds equipment for response to road accident rescue and flood incidents.

The Unit Headquarters is located at Daly River Police Station.

Contact with the Unit can be made through the Officer in Charge at the Daly River Police Station on 08 8978 2466 or by post to Daly River Police Station, Daly River, NT 0822.