Patricia Anne Brennan Award banner

Patricia Anne Brennan Award

The Patricia Anne Brennan Award recognises the significant contribution to women in the NTPFES by an individual employee or volunteer.

It is awarded annually on International Women’s Day.

The award consists of a perpetual trophy, a keepsake trophy and a pin to be worn on the uniform in perpetuity by the recipient.

It is named in memory of Constable First Class Patricia Brennan, who served with the Northern Territory Police Force from 1977 to 1991.

It is an honour for the service that Patricia’s family has supported this award.

Patricia Anne Brennan joined the Northern Territory Police in May 1977 following service in the Australian Army. During Recruit Training, she received the Most Dedicated Student Award for her outstanding commitment to her training.

On graduation, Patricia was among the first group of women police officers in the Northern Territory to wear the uniform and perform General Duties. This pioneering group of women faced a tough time dealing with a public accustomed to an all-male uniformed NT Police Force.  Patricia’s resolve and determination quickly brought her to the attention of police management and she was selected for a number of difficult and demanding jobs.

Patricia had met her future husband Mick Brennan while they were serving in the Army together.  Mick had joined the NT Police in 1976 and following Patricia’s Recruit Training and posting to Darwin General Duties, they married in 1978.

Patricia and Mick served together in Nhulunbuy from 1978 to 1981, one of the first husband and wife teams to do so in a remote location in the NT.

Over the next decade, Patricia continued to work in General Duties and Crime, paving the way for future generations of women police.

Sadly, Patricia became seriously ill in 1990 and passed away on 18 February 1991.

The Patricia Anne Brennan Award was instituted in 2006 with the first award presented to then-Superintendent Anne-Marie Murphy APM in 2007.

Since then we have seen the award presented to serving members who have excelled and supported the development of women working for the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services.


Patricia Anne Brennan Award recipients

Anne-Marie Murphy


Helen Braam


Kate Vanderlaan


Kylie Proctor


Kirsty Manser


Isobel Cummins


Renae McGarvie


Cynthia McIntosh


Francine Elsegood


Kaye Pemberton


Debra Blackwell